Lucky Charms Going Gluten Free



Seriously, Lucky Charms is FINALLY going gluten-free! Along with Cheerios going gluten-free to match the killer Chex varieties that are already gluten-free, now the news is out that Lucky Charms is going gluten-free!

Lucky Charms Goes Gluten Free

Images found on (General Mills)

Check out the blog in General Mills about Lucky Charms Going Gluten Free to see all the good news! Thanks to Cheerios going gluten-free, they will be using the oat flour from the new GF oats (sorted manually and optically in the new plant) to allow Lucky Charms to be magically delicious – and now safe for celiacs.

So when will this happen? The blog post states, “You should be able to find Lucky Charms, labeled gluten free, on store shelves in September (with national distribution by October). Check the side panel for “GLUTEN FREE” at the bottom of the nutrition information.” Just like Cheerios, you’ll have to be extra careful at the end of this year to make sure that you’re getting the new gluten-free boxes!

Who is excited? I KNOW I AM!

Tagged: , , ,

Comments: 8

  1. Laurie Clark July 1, 2015 at 10:52 am Reply

    Personally I’m afraid of the sorting method used to make the oats gluten free. I wish they would do it the right way and use oats that were grown in an environment that was gluten free.

  2. Michelle ~ My Gluten-free Kitchen July 1, 2015 at 11:31 am Reply

    This is so exciting for all the celiac and other gluten-free kids out there that just want to eat something fun like their friends! My boys will be so surprised when I get to bring home a box of this for them to enjoy! They’ve never had it before!

  3. Ali @ Whisk and Repeat July 1, 2015 at 12:54 pm Reply

    What fun news!! I’m so excited about this!! 🙂

  4. Lisa Ostrander July 1, 2015 at 6:50 pm Reply

    Holy cow! I have an app that scans foods to say if they are safe from gluten! We scanned Luvky Charms and the app said it was fine! She has been sick all week! We have been tearing our hair out trying to figure out why! UGH!!!!! We live by this app when not 100% sure! I’m so upset!! She can hardly wait to eat Cheerios and lucky charms that are actually gluten free!

  5. EVA July 3, 2015 at 6:13 am Reply

    OH MY GOSH! I was never THE biggest fan of Lucky Charms (unless it was the chocolate ones, that is), but I will totally be slamming down a box as soon as September hits! i’m also severely intolerant to all sugars, but this is worth the stomach upset!

  6. Janet July 9, 2015 at 6:09 pm Reply

    Okay, great they are going gluten free but that’s only one ingredient in a shit storm of chemicals and sugar that makes up Lucky Charms. The ingredient list:

    whole grain corn, sugar, marshmallows (sugar, modified corn starch, corn syrup, dextrose, gelatin, calcium carbonate, yellow 5&6, blue 1, red 40, artificial flavor), corn meal, canola and/or rice bran oil, cocoa processed with alkali, color added, salt, fructose, natural and artificial flavor, trisodium phosphate. BHT added to preserve freshness.

    So the second ingredient is sugar. The third ingredient is marshmallows which are…sugar. Then they throw in some degraded oils (have you ever seen how they make canola oil? Blech, it’s disgusting) and some artificial color, a bit of salt, and, oh look! more sugar (aka fructose).

    Why not call them what they are? Diabetes and heart disease in a bowl.

  7. sarah December 28, 2015 at 10:14 pm Reply

    Wow Janet,
    Actually GM is on the road to removing artificial colors,etc from their cereals, so one step at time. At least they’re trying.
    Also, no one has ever claimed to put LC in the health food category; that is why they are labeled magically delicious, not magically nutritious.
    If you don’t want to eat them, just don’t buy them. Frankly we are surprised you would even look at this site.
    Have a happy and healthy new year

  8. Meran August 5, 2017 at 8:12 pm Reply

    Is it ~really gf?
    I can eat the Chex line with no problem, but something’s still getting thru the Cherrios line, sad to say.
    I never reacted to oats as long as they were grown “clean”.
    So ~which process are they using? Grown clean or “optically processed” which apparently still allows some wheat, prob wild grown, in?

    If they are using the same plant for all of these cereals, they’re actually dirtying the plant up and making the clean Chex line impossible for me to eat now.

    I’m not trying to be nasty here. I’m truly concerned. I don’t eat any of this every day so I’m fine with eating Lucky Charms once in a while. I like marshmallows…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *