Are eggs dairy?
Maybe it’s because they’re both white.
Maybe it’s because they’re both found in a refrigerated section of the grocery store often labeled “dairy.”
Maybe it’s because they both come from animals, but aren’t meat.
Maybe it’s because they’re both used in baked goods.
Maybe it’s because they’re both breakfast foods.
Maybe it’s because they’re both top allergens.
But eggs and dairy are very different.
Are eggs dairy? No.
Milk, cheese – they all are dairy products, and they come from a cow. Eggs, are laid by hens, which are chickens. These two items come from two different animals. Yes, you can have an allergy to dairy, and you can have an allergy to eggs. While these food allergies can occur together, they are two separate allergies.
So the next time you ask for a dairy-free sandwich, and the server let’s you know that the bread is made with eggs, maybe it’s a time to have a chat with the manager, and double check that allergen order.
Tagged: dairy, dairy allergy, dairy free, egg, egg free, eggs, milk allergy
Leave a Reply